The new Roadster revealed on 15 October 2026. Every performance figure below is Tesla’s claim or a press report; nobody has tested the car. Last updated 2026-10-17.
Short answer: the new Tesla Roadster is a rear-wheel-drive, two-seat electric sports car in three versions (Performance, Thrust and Rocket). It has no official price, Elon Musk says production starts in 2028, and its headline numbers (0-60 mph under 1.6 s, 300+ miles of range) are claims. This is the new car, not the 2017 prototype, and not any other “roadster”.
| Performance | Thrust | Rocket | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seats | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| 0-60 mph (Tesla claim) | under 1.6 s | under 0.9 s | under 0.59 s |
| Rear thrusters | none | 4 | 4 plus 6 around the body |
| Reservation | $50,000 | $250,000 | invite only |
| Road legal | intended | not stated | no (Tesla) |
The full sheet, in the same layout as every other car in the catalog, is on the Tesla Roadster Performance spec page. Fields Tesla has not disclosed read “No Data” there rather than being filled with guesses.
There is no official price. What exists is a reservation: $50,000 for Performance ($5,000 by card, the rest by wire within 10 days) and $250,000 for Thrust. Tesla’s reservation agreement says a reservation “does not constitute the purchase or order of a vehicle”, any estimated price “is only an estimate”, and the payment is refundable until you complete configuration after Tesla invites you. For comparison, the 2017 prototype was quoted at $200,000 (Founders Series $250,000) and was never built. The catalog does not show a price for the Roadster until Tesla publishes one.
Musk’s answer on production was “2028, actually”, at Giga Texas. Tesla first showed a Roadster in November 2017 and promised production for 2020. The 2026 reveal itself slipped from April to August to October 1 before happening on October 15. The Roadster is listed with the other announced models on Upcoming EVs, dated 2028.
At the reveal an uncrewed Roadster hopped over a Tesla Semi on cold-gas nitrogen thrusters. Tesla quotes over 80 kN of thrust, and reports describe about five seconds of burn per fill. Only the Thrust (about 200 L tank) and Rocket (about 600 L) versions carry thrusters, and only Rocket is described as able to fly. It is a short hop, not a flying car. Some outlets also report suction fans that can hold the car upside down, which is how the demo ran inverted on a ramp.
Tesla describes Performance as the road car. Rocket is explicitly not approved for public roads. No official statement on Thrust has been found. The prototype also has no mirrors or wiper, so homologation in each market (US FMVSS, UN ECE) is still an open question.
| 2017 prototype | 2026 reveal | |
|---|---|---|
| Range | 620 mi (200 kWh) | over 300 mi |
| Top speed | over 250 mph | over 230 mph (fastest version) |
| Seats | 4 | 2 (Rocket: 1) |
| 0-60 mph | 1.9 s | under 1.6 s (Performance) |
| Promised production | 2020 | 2028 |
The Roadster has no independent test data, so a like-for-like comparison is not possible yet. For real, measured figures on the nearest Tesla performance cars, see the Tesla Model S Plaid, browse every Tesla in the catalog, or use the EV comparison tool. The longest-range EVs and fastest-charging EVs lists show where a claimed 300+ miles and 500 kW would sit once verified; the TCO calculator will take a price when one exists.
Million Dollar EV is an unofficial sponsor map of the Roadster, still in development and not open yet. What it is, and what is not decided, is in Million Dollar EV: a sponsor map on the Tesla Roadster.
A two-seat electric sports car Tesla revealed on 15 October 2026 at SpaceX’s McGregor, Texas test site. It is sold in three versions: Performance, Thrust and Rocket. It is not the 2017 prototype, which had four seats and different specs.
Tesla has not announced a price for any version. Reservations are $50,000 for Performance and $250,000 for Thrust; Rocket is invite only. A reservation is not the price: Tesla’s agreement says any estimated price “is only an estimate”.
Elon Musk said production starts in 2028 (“2028, actually”), at Giga Texas. Tesla’s reservation agreement says it cannot guarantee when, or if, a vehicle will be delivered.
Not as a car you can buy for the road. At the reveal an uncrewed Roadster made a short hop on cold-gas nitrogen thrusters. Thrusters are only fitted to the Thrust and Rocket versions, and only Rocket is described as able to fly.
Performance is intended for the road. Tesla’s own page says Rocket is not approved for public roads. No official statement on Thrust has been found.
Tesla claims 0-60 mph in under 1.6 s (Performance), under 0.9 s (Thrust) and under 0.59 s (Rocket), and a top speed over 230 mph for the fastest version. No independent test has been published.
Sources: Tesla Roadster Reservation Agreement (US v.20261015); Electrek, 15 Oct 2026; EVXL, 16 Oct 2026 (aggregating MotorTrend, Hagerty, Top Gear and Detroit News); Carwow. EVStats is independent and not affiliated with Tesla, Inc. We update this page as Tesla publishes details.